Tuesday, March 1, 2011

Churchill Cup 2011

The 2011 Churchill Cup will be hosted in England it was confirmed yesterday. It is to be the first time England will have hosted the competition since 2007. With the 2010 Champions, the England Saxons, involved yet again. Both Canada and the United States will compete again for the prize as will last years debutants, Russia. This year will feature two new teams with Tonga and Italy A appearing instead of France A and Uruguay. The tournament is to be staged over two weeks with three pool matches per team and a finals day taking place six days after the final day of pool play.

There are to be four different venues for the competition with matches on the same day all occuring at the same venue. The tournament will kick off on Saturday June 04 with both Canada and the USA in action as they face different opponents at Franklin Gardens in Northampton. The North Americans will both back up four days latter with matches in Esher.

Canada proved to be highly competitive last year with victories over Uruguay and France A which put them into the Cup Final in which they played well but were defeated by the England Saxons. The United States started well with a good win over Russia but thereafter fell short. This time around both countries will be looking to finish second or better in their respective groups with Canada having a full test international vs Russia in Pool B and the USA having one vs Tonga in Pool B.

Churchill Cup Pools

Pool A: England Saxons, USA, Tonga

Pool B: Canada, Italy 'A', Russia


Saturday June 4 Italy A vs Canada, Northampton
Saturday June 4 England vs USA, Northampton
Wednesday June 8, Tonga vs USA, Esher
Wednesday June 8, Russia vs Canada, Esher
Sunday June 12, Italy A vs Russia, Gloucester
Sunday June 12, England Saxons vs Tonga, Gloucester

Saturday June 18 Bowl Final, Worcester
Saturday June 18 Plate Final, Worcester
Saturday June 18 Cup Final, Worcester

No comments:

Post a Comment