Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Brazilian Championship Expands

Brazil´s national rugby championship has expanded from the Super 8 to include ten teams and the name has thus been changed to the Super 10 for the 2011 season. The new Super 10 will include the same eight teams from the 2010 tournament and will welcome two new participants in the form of Farrapos from Bento Gonçalves, Rio grande do Sul and Federal from São Paulo. Bento Gonçalves hosted the 2011 CONSUR Sevens tournament in which the Brazilian mens team defeated Argentina for the first time in history and went on the finish in third place behind Argentina and Uruguay.

Previously the Super 8 had been a complete round-robin tournament in which each team placed every other teams once each. With two more teams howver the CBRu have opted to divide the teams into two groups. Brazilian rugby´s Sports Director and the rugby voice of ESPN in Brazil, Antonio Martoni commented that with ten teams, the Brazilian Championship is increasingly becoming stronger and has everything to elevate the level of games and athletes even higher. Our hope is that this will help other teams have improved structure and try to participate in the Brazilian Championship (Super 10) in the coming seasons".

The tournament has the ten teams divided into two pools of five. the regular season will run from July through September followed by Quarter Finals, Semi Finals and a Grand Final on October 22. Current champions São José are favorites for the title having been undefeated in 2010. However, other teams will ensure that it is as competitive as possible with all sides looking for glory. Former São José player Fernando Portugal who today plays for Banderantes will certainly be looking for his club to compete well and attempt to win back the title which was theirs in 2009.

With Thanks:

No comments:

Post a Comment