Saturday, March 19, 2011

2011 South American Championship

The 2011 Sudamericano Mayor A de Rugby (South American Rugby Championship) will take place in the Northeastern Argentina city of Puerto Iguazú in the Misiones Province in May. The city is located on the border with Brazil and Paraguay on the Argentina side of the world famous Iguazú waterfalls. It is to be organized over two phases with the top five South American sides all taking part. It underlines the progress of rugby in the region in recent years as Brazil and Paraguay´s participation with the historical top three of Argentina, Chile and Uruguay was unheard of only a few years ago. All matches will be full internationals with IRB World Rankings on the line. The tournament organizers, CONSUR, have the difficult task of organizing the tournament on a shoe-string budget. Because of this teams will be forced to play three games in 7 days.

It is to be the 34th addition of the South American Championship and will start on May 14 with two matches - Uruguay vs Paraguay and Chile vs Brazil. Uruguay and Chile will both play in the second phase vs Argentina while Brazil and Paraguay will contionue to only play in the first phase and thus not face Los Pumas. The tournament is a huge opportunity for both Brazil and Paraguay to show their progress and try to continue their good performances against the second and third rankedd South American sides. Success will force CONSUR into changing the format. It will, however, be very complicated because Brazil and Paraguay will both play one of Chile or Uruguay on May 14 and then the other on May 17.

First Phase Fixtures

May 14 Uruguay vs Paraguay
May 14 Chile vs Brazil

May 17 Uruguay vs Brazil
May 17 Chile vs Paraguay

May 20 Uruguay vs Chile
May 20 Brazil vs Paraguay

Second Phase Fixtures

May 22 Argentina vs Chile
May 25 Argentina vs Uruguay

The 2010 South American Championship was hosted by Chile with all matches taking place in Santiago. Brazil had its best results vs both Chile and Uruguay in over twenty years. In the previous 33 editions of the tournament, Argentina has won every time except for in 1981 when Argentina did not participate and Uruguay won the title.

No comments:

Post a Comment