Tuesday, February 15, 2011

USA win Shield Final in Las Vegas Sevens

The 2011 USA Rugby Seven held over the weekend in Las Vegas, Nevada was a tremendous success for USA rugby and for the national team itself. The two day event attracted big crowds and saw both North and South American countries performing. The USA gave home fans something to go away happy with as they won the tournament´s Shield Final with Zach Test scoring twice and captain Matt Hawkins once as the hosts knocked over Japan.

South America

In Pool A Argentina scored two wins out of three with a 21-19 win over France and a 47-0 win over fellow South Americans, Guyana. Argentina then faced England to determine who woud top the group with the Europeans securing a 17-14 victory. Ramiro Moyana, Francisco Cuneo and Francisco Merello all did well for Argentina in scoring two tries each in the match vs Guyana. Uruguay were in Pool B and faced tough opposition with matches against New Zealand, Kenya and Wales. Despite not winnng a match, Uruguay did play well even in their 40-0 loss vs New Zealand. The South Americans scored tries in their other matches in losing 33-10 to Wales and 28-7 to Kenya.

North America

Canada were another team gven a tough assignment  they faced elite opposition in the form of Australia, Fiji and Scotland in Pool C. It was hard from the get-go with Canada first going up against Fiji and losing 33-0. They responded with two tries in their second fixture as they lost 31-14 to Australia. Canada then played very well vs Scotland and felt hard done by in losing 21-19. The host, the USA, had a slightly easier group but another one that was extremely competitive as they faced off against Japan, 2010 champions Samoa ad the side who went on to win the 2011 event, South Africa. The USA faced South Africa first and went down 27-5. In their second match, which was against Samoa, the host nation played better but lost 28-12. The team scored one of the best tries of the tournament vs Japan with Paul Emerick finishing off a well worked try as the USA defeated Japan 24-7.

On day two the teams advanced to their respective play-off places with Argentina facing New Zealand in a Cup Quarter Final and scoring the first try of the match before losing shape altogether in losing 47-7. Canada had a chance of getting even with Scotland in the Bowl Final but again fell just short as Scotland won 19-15. Canada had defeated France 22-14 in the semi-final. The USA did one better however as the hosts won the Shield Final as japan also would have a second chance but the USA were te better side in winning 19-12. The hosts defeaed Uruguay 27-7 in their semi-final after losing 19-15 to Canada in he Bowl Quarter Final.

No comments:

Post a Comment