Friday, February 25, 2011

Los Pampas XV to face the Griffons

Los Pampas coach Daniel Hourcade has named his side for the first Vodacom Cup match of the season to be played tommorrow in South Africa. The team is a mixture of youth and experience with current Argentina international players as well as some who are destined to play for Los Pumas in time. The youngest player to make the team is backrower Tomás De La Vega who is only 20 and has been selected ahead of two players, Tomás Leonardi and Leonardo Senatore, who toured with Argentina for international matches in 2009 and 2010. Julio Farías Cabello toured in 2010 and was selected in the backrow but has been picked as a secondrower for the match this weekend vs the Griffons in a move that suggests De La Vega is one to watch out for.

Julio Farías Cabello will form what is a highly impressive pack which includes four other players who played in Argentina´s European tour of November 2010. Agustín Creevy has returned from his brief time in france with Clermont and looks set to leave his mark in the competition as he has a big fight to secure his place at Rugby World Cup 2011. After the World Cup he will start a two year contract with Montpellier. Secondrower Mariano Galarza has returned from playing in Ireland for Leinster and appears to be certain to feature at this years Rugby World Cup. The pair of Genaro Fessia and Miguel de Achával will join De La Vega in the backrow and all three players will need to play to the best of their ability as places in the squad for the backrow are going to be limited and highly fought over.

The backs sees lots of young players involved as many from last season have moved on to professional contracts in Europe. There are nonetheless a number of highly impressive players who will be in the sights of the Pumas selectors. The likes of scrumhalf Martín Landajo, flyhalf Nicolás Sánchez and winger Juan Imhoff are all players to watch out for in the coming years.


1 Mauricio Guidone
2 Agustín Creevy
3 Maximiliano Bustos
4 Mariano Galarza
5 Julio Farías Cabello
6 Genaro Fessia
7 Tomás De La Vega
8 Miguel de Achával
9 Martín Landajo
10 Nicolás Sánchez
11 Juan Imhoff
12 Maximiliano Nannini
13 Gabriel Ascárate
14 Agustín Gosio
15 Joaquín Tuculet

Replacements: 16 Matías Cortese, 17 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 18 Benjamín Macome, 19 Leonardo Senatore, 20 Nicolás Bruzzone, 21 Santiago González Iglesias, 22 Román Miralles.

No comments:

Post a Comment