Saturday, February 26, 2011

Los Jaguares to compete for Nations Cup 2011

The 16th edition of the IRB Nations Cup will take place in June at the home of Romanian rugby, Triumf National Stadium in Bucharest. It is to be a competition involving six teams, three of which will be at Rugby World Cup 2011. Hosts Romania will be joined by fellow European Nations Cup participants Georgia and Portugal as well as the Top Qualifier from Africa, Namibia. Argentina and South Africa will both participate with their A sides taking part in the form of Los Jaguares and the South Africa Kings. The six sides will all play three matches between June 10 and 19 but will not be split into two pools. Rather they will each face three other sides at random. Los Jaguares will begin their campaign against Portugal on June the 10th . Five days latter they ill go up against the impressive Georgia on June the 15th before facing the home side four days latter.

In the competitions history Argentina have participated three times - in 2006, 2007 and 2010. The teams best performance came in 2007 when the Argentina A side finished second behind South Africa A who were known as the Emerging Springboks. On that occasion the South Americans had defeated Italy A and Namibia before looking like defeating South Africa halfway through the final match but in the end falling short. On that occassion Argentina had players involved who have since gone on to play for Los Pumas such as centre Santiago Fernández.


Round 1

June 10 Romania vs Namibia (17:00 - local time)
June 10 Georgia vs. South Africa Kings (19:00)
June 10 Jaguares vs Portugal (21:00)

Round 2
June 15 Jaguares vs Georgia (17:00)
June 15 Romania vs. South Africa Kings (19:00)
June Portugal vs. Namibia (21:00)

Round 3 

June 19 Portugal v South Africa Kings (17:00)
June 19 Georgia vs Namibia (19:00)
June 19 Romania vs Jaguares (21:00)

No comments:

Post a Comment