Friday, January 21, 2011

Los Pampas Squad for 2011 Vodacom Cup

The Argentina Rugby Union (UAR) have confirmed a 28 man squad for the 2011 Vodacom Cup which starts next month in South Africa. Of the 28 players, 10 have been selected for Los Pumas during the reign of coach Santiago Phelan and the trio of Agustín Creevy, Gastón de Robertis and Mariano Galarza have all returned to play for Los Pampas XV following stints with leading teams in France, England and Ireland. Their experiences playing at the elite level will no doubt help the chances of Los Pampas who had changed from playing in the South zone to the North for this years tournament.

The teams first match will be on February 26 against the Griffons who are based in the Free State City of Welkom and Los Pampas XV will be based in the Northwestern city of Potchefstroom. There is everything to play for as all 28 players looking to impress national selectors for a possible place in the 2011 Rugby World Cup squad the team. Some will certainly make the squad, possibly up to five players.

Los Pampas Squad
Belisario Agulla, Hindú Club, Buenos Aires
Gabriel Ascarate, Natación y Gimnasia, Tucumán
Nicolás Ariel Bruzzone, S.I.C, Buenos Aires
Maximilano Bustos, Universitario, Santa Fé
Mauro Adrián Comuzzi, Pucará, Buenos Aires
Matias Cortese, Liceo R.C, Mendoza
Agustín Creevy, Clermont, França
Tomás Cubelli, Belgrano Athletic, Buenos Aires
Miguel de Achaval, Asociación Alumni, Buenos Aires
Tomas de la Vega, C.U.B.A, Buenos Aires
Gastón de Robertis, Leicester Tigers, England
Julio Alfredo Farias Cabello, Tucuman R. C, Tucumán
Genaro Fessia, Córdoba Athletic, Cordoba
Mariano Galarza, Leinster, Ireland
Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, Asociación Alumni, Buenos Aires
Agustin Oscar Gosio, Club Newman, Buenos Aires
Mauricio Raúl Guidone, La Plata R.C, Buenos Aires
Santiago Nicolas Guzmán, Tucumán R.C, Tucumán
Juan José Imhoff, Duendes R.C, Rosario
Martin Landajo, C.A.S.I, Buenos Aires
Tomás Leonadri, S.I.C, Buenos Aires
Benjamín Macome, Tucumán R.C, Tucumán
Román Miralles, Duendes R.C, Rosario
Maximiliano Nannini, Duendes R.C, Rosario
Federico Nicolás Sanchez, Tucuman Lawn Tennis, Tucumán
Leonardo Vicente Senatore, G.E.R, Rosario
Francisco Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, La Plata R.C, U.R.B.A
Joaquín Tuculet, Los Tilos, U.R.B.A

With Thanks:

1 comment:

  1. there can only be 15 in a team ?????!!!!!