Tuesday, January 18, 2011

Argentina players named in Italian Six Nations Squad

Italian Rugby Coach, Nick Mallet has selected a squad of 24 players for his sides first two matches in the 2010 Six Nations which will be against Ireland and England. Italy´s first clash will be against the Irish in Rome on February 05. The match is highly important not only because of the Six Nations tournament but also because Italy and Ireland are in the same Pool in this years Rugby World Cup. The match is likely to determine second place in the pool behind Australia and if so would see one advance to a Quarter Final and the other be eliminated.

Mallet´s squad of 24 includes returning players Gonzalo García and Leonardo Ghiraldini but Italy will still not be at full strength as the trio of Mauro Bergamasco, Craig Gower and Manoa Vosawai are all unavaliable due to injury. Nonetheless, Mallet has made some bold selections. Despite Craig Gower not being avaliable he has dropped Riccardo Bocchino in favor of Kris Burton and Lorenzo Cittadini in favor of Ignacio Fernández Rouyet.

Of the players selected sixteen play in Italy with eleven players from Benetton Treviso and five from Aironi. Of the remaining eight, seven play in France and one in England. But more importantly, Argentina´s contribution to global rugby is again evident as 33.3% of the team are from Argentina. Indeed, 8 of the 24 players selected by Nick Mallet were born in Argentina. Mallet has gone for Argentine players in a number of positions with two props - Martín Castrogiovanni and Ignacio Fernández Rouyet, secondrower Santiago Dellapé, scrumhalf Pablo Canavosio, centres Gonzalo García and Gonzalo Canale and of course Italy´s captain, Sergio Parisse is from Argentina. All players play at the elite level in Europe in the Magners League, Aviva Premiership or Top 14.


Robert Barbieri (Benetton Treviso) - 10 caps
Martin Castrogiovanni (Leicester Tigers, England) - 71 caps
Carlo Antonio del Fava (Aironi) - 48 caps
Santiago Dellapé (Racing-Metro, France) - 60 caps
Paul Derbyshire (Benetton Treviso) - 8 caps
Ignacio Fernández Rouyet (Benetton Treviso) - 7 caps
Quintin Geldenhuys (Aironi) - 16 caps
Leonardo Ghiraldini (Benetton Treviso) - 31 caps
Andrea Lo Cicero (Racing-Metro, France) - 81 caps
Fabio Ongaro (Aironi) - 74 caps
Sergio Parisse (Stade Francais, France) - 72 caps
Salvatore Perugini (Aironi) - 75 caps
Alessandro Zanni (Benetton Treviso) - 47 caps

Tommaso Benvenuti  (Benetton Treviso), 3 caps
Mirco Bergamasco (Racing-Metro, France) - 76 caps
Kris Burton (Benetton Treviso) - 4 caps
Gonzalo Canale (Clermont-Auvergne) - 61 caps
Pablo Canavosio (Aironi) - 32 caps
Gonzalo García (Benetton Treviso) - 18 caps
Edoardo Gori (Benetton Treviso) - 2 caps
Andrea Masi (Racing-Metro, France) - 55 caps
Luke McLean (Benetton Treviso) - 24 caps
Luciano Orquera (Brive, France) - 17 caps
Alberto Sgarbi (Benetton Treviso) - 8 caps

No comments:

Post a Comment