Wednesday, January 19, 2011

2011 Sevens de Viña del Mar

This past weekend Chile´s tourist city of Viña del Mar hosted the 2011 Sevens de Viña del Mar in what was a two day tournament involving sixteen teams including the international teams of Chile and Uruguay as well as club teams from Argentina and Chile itself. Seven of the teams came from Argentina with the border cities of Mendoza (Los Tordos and Marista) and San Juan (San Juan RC and Cuyo) both providing two teams each. There were also teams from Buenos Aires (Hindu and SIC), Cordoba (Tala) and Rosario (Gimnasia y Esgrima). None of them came out on top, however, as hosts Chile delighted their home supporters by taking out the title - an important championship victory for Chilean rugby.

Chile won the tournament by defeating Mendoza side, Los Tordos 21-7 in the Cup Final, known as the Copa de Oro del Miller Seven Viña 2011. It was the first time Chile had won the title since 2006. Chile got to the final after winning their pool with victories over Tala (5-0), U. Catolica (12-7) and Old Georgians (31-0). Their opponets in the Quarter Finals were the legendary Buenos Aires club, SIC who have produced many great players for Argentina including Agustín Pichot. Chile played very well to win 26-6 and then go on to face Uruguay in the semi final. The international match up went Chile´s way as they secured a 19-14 win after leading 12-7 at halftime.

Chile´s success comes only one week after Brazil finished third, ahead of both Chile and Uruguay, in the 2011 Punta del Este Sevens in Uruguay. It is further evidence of the growth of rugby occuring across South America which underlines the potential that is already there and suggests that massive things could happen should Argentina host Rugby World Cup 2023.

1 comment:

  1. I literally love this sport. I have brothers that practised it all their chilhood and now I feel like I am a part of it. I actually made an argentina travel to have the possibility to meet "the pumas" and watch a game. I am just expecting for the next championship!