Sunday, December 26, 2010

Pools for 2011 South American Rugby Sevens

The top eight South American mens and womens Rugby Sevens countries will compete in the city of Bento Gonçalvez in Brazil´s Southern most Brazilian state, Rio Grande do Sul in February. As is custom in Rugby Sevens the event will be spread over two days with a mens and a womens tournament. Both sexes wil have eight countries competing with the competitors split into two pools of four. The selection of Brazil as host nation is very positive for Brazilian rugby and a sign that CONSUR places womens rugby highly. The Brazilian womens Rugby Sevens team is the best in the continent having qualified as South America´s team at the 2009 Rugby Sevens World Cup in Dubai.

In the previous edition of the South American Rugby Sevens the Argentine beach city of Mar del Plata south of Buenos Aires played host to the tournament with Argentina defeating Uruguay 21-0 in the mens final and Brazil defeating Colombia 17-0 in the womens final. The 2011 tournament will take place on Febraury 5 and 6 with Argentina expected to dominate the mens section and Brazil favorites to once again win the womens.

Mens Section

Pool A: Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, Peru,

Pool B: Chile, Colombia, Uruguay, Venezuela

Womens Section

Pool A: Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, Paraguay

Pool B: Chile, Colombia, Peru, Uruguay

No comments:

Post a Comment