Thursday, November 25, 2010

Pumas change three for Ireland

Argentina coach Santiago Phelan has opted for two changes in the backs and one in the forwards in Los Pumas´ starting lineup as they prepaer to take on the old enemy, the men in green - Ireland this Sunday in Dublin. It will only be the second match between the two sides since Rugby World Cup 2007. The changes see first choice winger from France 2007 and fullback from 2008-2009, Horacio Agulla, get his first start of the tour after being on the bench for the clash vs Italy but not playing at all and being left out of the side altogether that faced France. Agulla replaces Gonzalo Camacho who, despite not scoring a try in the first two matches, was a standout player and outplayed his opponent in both games. Camacho seems likely to be Argentina´s first choice right winger at New Zealand 2011. Biarritz fullback, Marcelo Bosch has been selected at inside centre in his first start since June 2008. Bosch, naturally a flyhalf has been Biarritz´s first choice fullback but continues to be seen as a 10 or 12 by Pumas staff. he replaces Santiago Fernández. Meanwhile, Julio Farías Cabello has won his first ever test start after impressing off the bench in his debut appearance for Argentina vs France in Montpellier. He replaces Miguel de Achaval who had a poor game vs France.

The three changes all show experimentation as Phelan is looking to give the players all a chance as the number of tests Argentina have between now and Rugby World Cup 2011 is very few. In positive news for Los Pumas, former test inside centre, Miguel Avramovic is returning for his French club, Agen this weekend. Secondrower, Mariano Galarza retains his place in the starting XV where he has impressed so far this month for Los Pumas. He is the only Ireland based player in the squad and will be playing in Dublin - the home of his club Leinster Rugby. Captain, Felipe Contepomi is a former Leinster player having played there for six years before moving to France last season.


15 Martín Rodriguez Gurruchaga (Stade Francais, France)
14 Horacio Agulla (Leicester Tigers, England)
13 Gonzalo Tiesi (Stade Francais, France)
12 Marcelo Bosch (Biarritz, France)
11 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino (Leicester Tigers, England)
10 Felipe Contepomi (Toulon, France - captain)
9 Nicolas Vergallo (Toulouse, France)
8 Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe (Toulon, France)
7 Julio Farías Cabello (Tucuman)
6 Genaro Fessia (Córdoba)
5 Patricio Albacete (Toulouse, France)
4 Mariano Galarza (Leinster, Ireland)
3 Martín Scelzo (Clermont, France)
2 Mario Ledesma (Clermont, France)
1 Rodrigo Roncero (Stade Français, France)

16 A Creevy (Clermont Auvergne, France)
17 M Ayerza (Leicester, England)
18 J Figallo (Montpellier, France)
19 S Guzmán (Stade Francais, France)
20 Á Galindo (Racing Metro, France)
21 A Lalanne (London Irish, England)
22 L Borges (Albi, England)

Ireland will name their team on Friday

No comments:

Post a Comment