Monday, November 8, 2010

Leicester Tigers Sign Another Puma

With prop Boris Stankovich being badly injured English Champions, Leicester Tigers have found a replacement in 30 year old prop Gastón De Robertis from the de Regatas de Bella Vista club in Buenos Aires. De Robertis joins the club with immediate effect and will make his debut for the Tigers today as they take on Australia in a midweek tour match at Welford Road in Leicester. The match is preperation for the Wallabies who will take on England at Twickenham on Saturday.

De Robertis will be in fine company with Pumas internationals Marcos Ayerza, Horacio Agulla, Lucas González Amorosino all members of Leicester Tigers as is Italy´s Argentine prop Martín Castrogiovanni. None of the clubs other Argentine players will join him in the match vs Australia because of this weekends test match in which Italy host Argentina. All four players are training for the encounter.

His arrival at the club continues his professional experiences which has seen him play in Italy for Amatori Catania and Benetton Treviso, in France for Biarritz in South Africa for Western Province. Gastón De Robertis played three test matches for Los Pumas from December 2005-July 2006 as Argentina played test rugby outside of the IRB test windows and thus could not call upon European professionals.

Leicester Tigers
15 Geordan Murphy (c), 14 Scott Hamilton, 13 Matt Smith, 12 Anthony Allen, 11 Manu Tuilagi, 10 Billy Twelvetrees, 9 James Grindal, 8 Jordan Crane, 7 Craig Newby, 6 Thomas Waldrom, 5 George Skivington, 4 Ed Slater, 3 Julian White, 2 George Chuter, 1 Peter Bucknall.

Reserves: 16 Rob Hawkins, 17 Gastón De Robertis, 18 Steve Mafi, 19 Ben Pienaar, 20 Jason Spice, 21 George Ford, 22 Dan Hipkiss.

15 Peter Hynes, 14 Rod Davies, 13 Pat McCabe, 12 Anthony Faingaa, 11 Lachie Turner, 10 Berrick Barnes (captain), 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Richard Brown, 7 Matt Hodgson, 6 Scott Higginbotham, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Van Humphries, 3 Salesi Ma'afu, 2 Huia Edmonds, 1 James Slipper.

Reserves: 16 Saia Faingaa, 17 Ben Daley, 18 Dean Mumm, 19 Pat McCutcheon, 20 Nick Phipps, 21 Matt Giteau, 22 Luke Morahan.

With Thanks:

No comments:

Post a Comment