Thursday, November 4, 2010

Belgium vs Canada - Match Preview


Canadian coach Kieran Crowley has named his side to face Belgium in the first ever international rugby match between the two countries this Saturday in Brussels. In a ame that Canada are expected to win and to do so comfortably they will be tested as much as possible from one of europe´s emerging sides. Canada are going into the game without all European based players. Only one player has been playing in Europe this season as Chauncey O'Toole played the earlier part of the current Magners League season for the Glasgow Warriors but is now back listed as a player for The Rock. His backrow partner, Adam Kleeberger is the only player not based in Canada.

Canada has named two debuants in the starting XV in 18 year old winger, Taylor Paris and backrower, Jeremy Kyne. Canada´s star newcomer in the recent Americas Rugby Championship in Argentina, Connor Braid has been awarded with a spot on the bench as have Mitch Gudgeon, Jamie Mackenzie and Jon Phelan who have all been named on the Canadian bench. The high number of young players in the match day 22 suggests that Canada are using the match to experiment. While this is true, Canada have been careful to also ensure tried and tested players are on the field too. Canada has named both Nathan Hirayama and Ryan Smith at 10 and 12 to organize the backs. Both players are amongst Canada´s best backs. In addition first choice players including Pat Riordan, Chauncey O'Toole, Adam Kleeberger and Sean White are all in the starting XV.

Prediction - Canada to be too strong. Canada´s backrow should be very strong and Hirayama and Smith should link well with the speedsters. Canada to win by 30 points.

1 Tom Dolezel (Prairie Wolf Pack), 2 Pat Riordan (Captain - BC Bears), 3 Jason Marshall (BC Bears), 4 Jebb Sinclair (The Rock), 5 Brian Erichsen (BC Bears), 6 Chauncey O'Toole (The Rock), 7 Adam Kleeberger (Auckland, New Zealand), 8 Jeremy Kyne (Prairie Wolf Pack), 9 Sean White (BC Bears), 10 Nathan Hirayama (BC Bears), 11 Sean Duke (BC Bears), 12 Ryan Smith (Prairie Wolf Pack), 13 Nick Blevins (Prairie Wolf Pack), 14 Taylor Paris (Ontario Blues), 15 Ciaran Hearn (The Rock)

Replacments: 16 Andrew Tiedemann (Prairie Wolf Pack), 17 Dan Pletch (Ontario Blues), 18 Jon Phelan (The Rock), 19 Mitch Gudgeon (BC Bears), 20 Jamie MacKenzie (Ontario Blues), 21 Ander Monro (Ontario Blues), 22 Connor Braid (BC Bears)

To be named

No comments:

Post a Comment