Friday, October 1, 2010

São José Rugby win Brazilian Championship

Despite there still being one round remaining in the Campeonato Brasileiro de Rugby, also known as the Super 8, São José Rugby are officially champions for 2010 after winning all their matches and being in an unreachable position. This marks the fifth time São José have won the championship after previously winning in 2002, 2004, 2007 and 2008. The team is building itself a reputation in Brazil similar to that of Toulouse in France, the Crusaders in New Zealand or the Hindu Club in Buenos Aires. The team has an outstanding setup including an Argentine coach, womens rugby, junior rugby, strong sponsorship and support from the City Hall.

Standings with one round remaining

1. São José 27 
2. Desterro Florianopolis  21 
3. SPAC 18 
4. Niterói 16 
5. Pasteur 16 
6. Bandeirantes 10 
7. Rio Branco 6 
8. Curitiba 2

São José Rugby´s impressive undefeated championship started with a 13-9 win vs São Paulo Athletic Club (SPAC) in May. next up, São José travelled to São Paulo to face Pasteur and won 52-3. Unibrasil CRC (Curitiba) were no match for São José who won 62-0. Rio de Janeiro's Niteroi proved far superior but São José were again too strong and won the match 16-6. São José then faced Desterro last weekend and won 20-8 to claim the title with a game in hand. The remaining match is against Bandeirantes in São Paulo on October 9.

São José represent the city of São José dos Campos in the state of São Paulo, located 100KM northeast of São Paulo city. The rugby club was founded in 1987 but has quickly become one of the countries top teams and acted as the host venue for Brazil´s most recent home rugby international vs Trinidad & Tobago in 2008. In the 2010 South American Championship, five players from São José were selected - Gabriel Bueno Lombello (prop), Henrique Dantas Pinto (backrow), Lucas Rodrigues Duque (flyhalf), Moisés Rodrigues Duque (centre) and Fernando Aurélio Bueno Martins (fullback)

Earlier in the year São José won the Campeonato Paulista de Rugby (São Paulo State Championship).

No comments:

Post a Comment