Tuesday, October 5, 2010

Argentina Jaguars vs Canada Selects

In round one of this years Americas Rugby Championship, the USA Select XV will face Tonga A in one match and Argentina Jaguars will host Canada Selects in the feature match of the round. The USA should be too strong for Tonga who were fortunate not to suffer a shock loss to Chile last week after holding on for a 32-30 win. Captain Nic Johnson will lead an experimental side but the USA should win comfortably nonetheless.

United States:
1. Anthony Purpura (Boston RFC)
2. Phillip Thiel (Life)
2. Eric Fry (Unattached)
4. Samu Manoa (San Francisco Golden Gate)
5. Brian Doyle (New York Athletic Club)
6. Patrick Danahy (Life)
7. Matthew Hawkins (Belmont Shore)
8. Nic Johnson (captain - Denver Barbarians)
9. Shalom Suniula (Brisbane Breakers)
10. Nese Malifa (Glendale Raptors)
11. Zachary Test (Loughbrough University)
12. Andrew Suniula (Chicago Griffins)
13. Alipate Tulievuka (Old Puget Sound Beach)
14. Milemoti Pulu (East Palo Alto)
15. Taivalu Enosa (Belmont Shore)

Reserves: 16. Chris Biller (San Francisco Golden Gate), 17. Tala Esere (Tama Laie Lions), 18. Dan LaPrevotte (San Francisco Golden Gate), 19. Vai Notoa (Tama Laie Lions), 20. Benny Mateialona (Life), 21. Volney Rouse (Te Kawau), 22. Troy Hall (NYAC)


15 Finevea Mesui Lemoto

14 Viliami Hakalo
13 Petuliki Mateo
12 Damien Fakafanua
11 Tatafu Na´aniumotu
10 Fangatapu Apikotoa
9 Soane Havea
8 Martin Tupou
7 Joseph Kolokihakaufisi
6 Sione Vaioleti
5 Taumei Hikila
4 Talite Vaioleti
3 Makoni Finau
2 Pataleone Vi
1 Viliami Pola

In the other match both Argentina and Canada have announced their lineups. Both teams are packed with quality players across the park. The backrow of Los Jaguars is a very strong unit featuring first choice Pumas backrower Genaro Fessia alongside captain Miguel de Achával and the star Jaguar forward from last years Americas Rugby Championship, Leonardo Senatore. The forwards also have former Bayonne hooker Matías Cortese and Pumas secondrower Santiago Guzman who was not able to join Stade Francais this season due to a previous injury. The backs are very fearsome looking too with two test players from last november in Comuzzi and San Martin while former Stade Francais and Perpignan flyhalf, Ignacio Mieres will pull the strings from pivot.

Canada have noticeable players of their own, most importantly former Montauban centre Ryan Smith whose experience will be priceless to the Canadians. Despite doing poorly in the Canadian Rugby Championship, the BC Bears have more players than the three other Canadian teams in hte run-on side. With a total of 6 some people will not only be surprized but justifiably feel that that other players should be playing. Centre Tyler wish and scrumhalf Sean White appear to be Canada's biggest weapons in this contest. Both players should feature at Rugby World Cup 2011 and their performances vs Argentina will have a lot to do with this. It is a massive game for both teams with the home side favorites and likely to win by over 20  points.

1 Mauricio Guidone
2 Matías Cortese
3 Maximiliano Bustos
4 Julio Farías Cabello
5 Santiago Guzmán
6 Genaro Fessia
7 Leonardo Senatore
8 Miguel de Achával
9 Nicolás Bruzzone
10 Ignacio Mieres
11 Agustín Gosio
12- Juan Pablo Estelles
13 Horacio San Martín
14 Mauro Comuzzi
15- Joaquín Tuculet.

Reserves: 16 Roberto Tejerizo, 17 Matías Narváez, 18 Agustín Smidt, 19 Benjamín Macome, 20 Martín Landajo, 21 Federico Sánchez y 22 Juan Imhoff.

1 Frank Walsh, (Atlantic Rock)
2 Pat Riordan, (Captain - BC Bears)
3 Scott Franklin, (Prairie Wolfpack)
4 Mitch Gudgeon (BC Bears)
5 Brian Erichsen, (BC Bears)
6 Jebb Sinclair, (Atlantic Rock)
7 Kevin Parfrey, (Atlantic Rock)
8 Jeremy Kyne, (Prairie Wolfpack)
9 Sean White, (BC Bears)
10 Connor Braid, (BC Bears)
11 Nick Blevins, (Prairie Wolfpack)
12 Ryan Smith, (Prairie Wolfpack)
13 Tyler Wish, (Atlantic Rock)
14 Shawn Mercier, (BC Bears)
15 Derek Daypuck, (Ontario Blues)

Reserves: 16 Mike Pletch, (Ontario Blues), 17 Jason Marshall, (BC Bears), 18 Jon Phelan, (Atlantic Rock), 19 Stan Mckeen, (Oxford University), 20 Jamie Mackenzie, (Ontario Blues), 21 Eric Wilson, (BC Bears), 22 Ryan Tomlinson, (Ontario Blues)

No comments:

Post a Comment