Friday, October 15, 2010

Americas Rugby Championship 2010 - Final Round

In round two of the 2010 Americas Rugby Championship Canada Selects faced Tonga A in what is a preview of the Canada vs Tonga clash to take place in Pool A in Whangarei, New Zealand in Rugby World Cup 2011. The clash in the Americas Rugby Championship was therefore extremely useful preperation for both teams as they no doubt are targeting the match in Whangarei as well as the clash vs Japan to try to finish third in the pool. Canada proved to be too strong in scoring 5 tries to 1 to overpower the Pacific Islanders to win 32-16 and stay in touch with the USA. The international sides of Canada and Tonga have twice met in Rugby World Cup history with Canada coming out on top both times with good wins.

In Round two´s other encounter, the Argentina Jaguars showed once again why Argentina is the leading rugby force in the Americas as they backed up their first round 49-14 win vs Canada selects with a 45-12 victory (6 tries to 2) vs the USA selects. The result meant that Argentina are 2010 Americas Rugby Championship title holders with a game in hand as both North American teams, despite defeating Tonga, cannot catch the South Americans regardless of the result of the final round. The North Americans will, however, go head to head today with the winner taking home silver and the loser bronze.

Round three will take place later on today with Canada Selects vs USA Selects kicking off at 17:45 local time with Argentine referee Francisco Pastrana to be in charge of the contest. Argentina Jaguares vs Tonga A will start shortly after the scheduled completion of the match with the official kick off to take place at 19:45. Canadian Brian Arciero will have the honor of refereeing the contest.
Canada Selects

1 Frank Walsh, 2 Pat Riordan, 3 Scott Franklin, 4 Brian Erichsen, 5 Brett Beukeboom, 6 Jebb Sinclair, 7 Kevin Parfrey, 8 Jeremy Kyne, 9 Sean White, 10 Connor Braid, 11 Ryan Tomlinson, 12 Ryan Smith, 13 Tyler Wish, 14 Nick Blevins, 15 Derek Daypuck

Reserves: 16 Mike Pletch, 17 Hubert Buydens, 18 Jason Marshall, 19 Jon Phelan, 20 Mark Macsween, 21 Eric Wilson, 22 Sean Ferguson

USA Selects

1 Phillip Thiel, 2 Chris Biller, 3 Eric Fry, 4 Samu Manoa, 5 Brian Doyle, 6 Patrick Danahy, 7 Matthew Hawkins, 8 Nic Johnson, 9 Shalom Suniula, 10 Nese Malifa, 11 Zach Test, 12 Andrew Suniula, 13 Troy Hall, 14 Milemoti Pulu, 15 Taivalu Enosa

Reserves: 16 Anthony Purpura, 17 Ross Silverman, 18 Tom Katzfey, 19 Mark Bokhoven, 20 Benny Mateialona, 21 Volney Rouse, 22 Duncan Kelm

15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Agustín Gosio, 13 Juan Pablo Estelles, 12 Horacio San Martín, 11 Mauro Comuzzi, 10 Ignacio Mieres, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Miguel De Achaval (captain), 7Leonardo Senatore, 6 Genaro Fessia, 5 Santiago Guzmán, 4. Julio Farías Cabello, 3Maximiliano Bustos, 2 Matías Cortese, 1 Mauricio Guidone.

Reserves: 16. Luciano Proto, 17. Roberto Tejerizo, 18. Tomás de la Vega, 19. Benjamín Macome, 20. Nicolás Sánchez, 21. Gabriel Ascárate, 22. Juan Imhoff .

15 Fangatapu Apikotoa, 14 Tatafu Naaniumotu, 13 Petuliki Charles Mateo, 12 Damien Fakafanua, 11 Viliami Hakalo, 10 Thomas Palu, 9 Soane Havea, 8 Christopher Aho, 7 Ruthika Ilolahia, 6 Matini Tupou, 5 Taumei Hikila, 4 Talite Vaioleti, 3 Soane Leger, 2 Pataleone Vi, 1 Makoni Finau.

Reserves: 16 Kameliele Sakalia, 17 Viliami Pola, 18 Paea Siulangapo, 19 Josephkuea Kilokihakaufisi, 20 Sione Vaioleti, 21 Mahe Fangupo, 22 Fine Vea Mesui Lemoto.

No comments:

Post a Comment