Friday, September 24, 2010

North American teams selected for 2010 Americas Rugby Championship

The second annual Americas Rugby Championship will be hosted by Argentina will all matches taking place in the country´s second largest city, Córdoba. The Estadio Olímpico de Córdoba, also known as Chateau Carreras will be the host venue as the UAR continue to spread important rugby fixtures across the country. The venue has a capacity of almost 50,000 and has hosted international rugby previously, most recently in 2008 when Argentina took on Italy. It has hosted many important soccer matches and is a great venue to support the idea of Argentina hosting Rugby World Cup 2023.

In 2009, the tournament was structured differently with the USA Select XV and the Argentina Jaguars meeting in what was a semi final adn the two top Canadian sides from the Canadian Rugby Championship meeting in the other semi final. This year, however, will see the four competing teams who will be representing Argentina, Canada, Tonga and the United States all face each other in round-robin format matches spread over 11 days. The schedule is as follows:

Tournament Schedule

Tuesday - October 5th
USA vs Tonga A
Canada Select vs Argentina Jaguars

Sunday October 10th
Canada Select vs Tonga A
USA vs Argentina Jaguars

Friday October 15th
Canada Select vs USA
Tonga vs Argentina Jaguars

The North Americans have confirmed their squads for the tournament. Both Canada and the United States will be fielding domestic based players because the tournament is taking place outside of the IRB test Window´s of June and November which means clubs have no obligation to release players for international duty. Canada will have one European based player in the squad - Stan McKeen who plays for Oxford University in England. For Canada it is the perfect opportunity to select the best players from the Canadian Rugby Championship which was won by The Rock in Saturdays final vs the Prarie Wolfpack. The players picked will be fighting for places in the squad which has an exciting tour to Belgium, Spain, Georgia and Portugal in November. The match vs Belgium will fall outside of the mandatory release window which makes the Americas Rugby Championship that much more important for the Canadians.

Nick Blevins - Prairie Wolf Pack
Connor Braid - BC Bears
Brett Beukeboom - Ontario Blues
Hubert Buydens - Prairie Wolf Pack
Derek Daypuck - Ontario Blues
Brian Erichsen - BC Bears
Sean Ferguson - BC Bears
Scott Franklin - Prairie Wolf Pack
Mitch Gudgeon - BC Bears
Jeremy Kyne - Prairie Wolf Pack
Jamie Mackenzie - Ontario Blues
Mark MacSween - Ontario Blues
Jason Marshall - BC Bears
Stan McKeen - Oxford University
Shawn Mercier - BC Bears
Kevin Parfrey - The Rock
John Phelan - The Rock
Mike Pletch - Ontario Blues
Pat Riordan - BC Bears
Ryan Smith - Prairie Wolf Pack
Jebb Sinclair - The Rock
Ryan Tomlinson - Ontario Blues
Frank Walsh - The Rock
Sean White - BC Bears
Eric Wilson - BC Bears
Tyler Wish - The Rock

The United States has not had a tournament similar to the Canadian Rugby Championship taking place recently but the countries Super League is more than good enough to be used as a basis for selecting a national squad to compete in the Americas Rugby Championship.

United States

Chris Biller (San Francisco Golden Gate)
Pat Danahy (Life University)
Brian Doyle (New York Athletic Club)
Tai Enosa (Belmont Shore)
Tala Esera (Hawaii Rugby Club)
Eric Fry (Unattached)
Troy Hall (New York Athletic Club)
Matt Hawkins (Belmont Shore)
Nic Johnson (Denver Barbarians)
Gareth Jones (Young Munsters R.F.C.)
Tom Katzfey (New York Athletic Club)
Duncan Kelm (San Diego State University)
Dan LaProvette (San Francisco Golden Gate)
Nese Malifa (Glendale Raptors)
Benny Mateialona (Life University)
Via Notoa (Hawaii Rugby Club)
Mile Pulu (San Francisco Golden Gate)
Anthony Purpura (Boston Rugby Club)
Volney Rouse (San Francisco Golden Gate)
Ross Silverman (Unattached)
Andrew Suniula (Chicago Griffins)
Shalom Suniula (South Brisbane),
Zac Test (Loughborough University)
Phil Theil (Life University),
Pate Tuilevuka (Old Puget Sound Beach)
John Van der Giessen (Unattached) *

* John Van der Giessen was named in the squad but has since signed for Bath in England and so will not be avaliable for the United States.

With thanks

1 comment:

  1. Wonder how good of a canadian team this is, considering 9 of the players come from the team that didn't win a single game and only 5 from the team that won the competition?? Seems a bit skewed! Apparently the key to selection is to lose.....